Day 1

February 18, 2013

President’s Day. I get the day off work. I am extremely grateful for that. My exhaustion levels have been at an all time high for the past several months. Another day of rest is another day to recuperate from the usual stress of the work week.

In an incredibly thoughtful move, my husband also arranged for us to have lunch together. With three young kids at home and family that lives far away, we haven’t had a quiet lunch or dinner alone for so long that I can’t remember the last time it happened. (Was it sometime last summer maybe? Yes, it was *that* long ago.)

Also, our relationship has been strained for the past two years and while thoughtful gestures are part of my husband’s DNA they have largely been lost in the larger struggles we’ve been having. Thankfully, we are slowly emerging from the ashes and finding each other in new, more mature ways.

More gratitude for today: I got to spend several hours writing in the morning while our babysitter watched the kids, and my husband held down the fort while I attended a meeting for a local artists’ group. I may not be anywhere close to living my dream as a writer and artist, but I’m taking steps forward and each step builds a foundation upon which I can continue to build.

Amen.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 1

  1. Pingback: Day 365 | Gratitude Prayer

Leave a Reply

