Day 19 – Poop!

Brain Books 2010

March 8, 2013

I  am grateful for poop. Yep, I said it. I am really grateful for poop, especially because NOT pooping is a real problem.

Before I became a parent, I never thought about how much poop I would see in my life. I mean, wow! At some point, my kids will be able to wipe their own butts, of course, but in the meantime it’s a daily affair at our house times at least four (including my own).

Recently, I went to a talk about the mind-gut connection. As someone who has complained of stomach aches since age 3, I really wanted to learn more about the topic. If you’re interested you can read an overview article from Harvard Medical School about it.The article deals with the brain aspects, but there are gut aspects involved as well, such as immune responses. An article about the link between your brain and intestinal bacteria can be found on AlterNet. Scientific American produced another article that talks about the relationship between your brain and gut, which can be found here.

So, there is more than one reason to be thankful for poop!

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

