Day 23 (Part 1)

March 12, 2013

I am grumpy. The weather outside is cold, dark, and wet. Sometimes I think the weather and I are twins. I can’t tell you how many times my mood is a direct reflection of the weather outside. I’m serious. I first noticed the connection when I was in middle school.

weather

Because weather plays such a huge role in my daily life, I’m thinking maybe I should consider finding a job in a place with better weather.

Like Hawaii.

No, really.

I mean, would I be a more relaxed, content person? Would I have to work so hard at gratitude? I have a friend who lives there. She loves it.

I’m going to let that one simmer for awhile. It’s always been a dream of mine to live in Hawaii. Until today I really only thought of it as a fantasy, but maybe I’ve been wrong to dismiss it. Maybe I should take my heart’s desire more seriously. And not just in this regard but in other areas as well.

Take my desire to be an artist, for instance. No matter how hard I have tried to dismiss my creative side to follow a more reasonable career path, I cannot shake my natural inclinations. I think sometimes my anger and frustration stem from the lack of creative outlets in my life. I am happiest when I am a mother to my children (the ultimate creation) or bringing my visions and dreams to life. Sometimes the ideas come so quickly and intensely that I feel like I have no choice but to put them down on paper or in a sketch book.

I don’t know how to make it work in the commercial world right now due to constraints on my time and energy. Maybe, though, I shouldn’t let those road blocks prevent me from believing. After all, Jesus said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” (Matthew 19:26) See my post for Day 17 for more on that as well.

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

You won’t believe this, but the sun just came out! How is that for hope?

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

