Day 28

March 17, 2013

I know I’ve said it before, but I will say it again: I am soooooooo grateful for my children.

Tonight I had the pleasure of snuggling with my younger daughter before bed. My oldest daughter has a low grade fever and was unusually tired, which meant less arguing between the two girls and a greater willingness on the part of my oldest to go to bed. Normally, my oldest has a hard time settling down at night and jealousy wrecks havoc on any attempts to snuggle with either of them.

So while I am sad that my oldest daughter is sick, the upside of the situation was that I got to rock my 5-year-old to sleep in my arms. Yes, she’s a little big for that, but even 5-year-old’s need snuggle time, and she’s still small enough to fit in my lap in the rocking chair.

Just barely, but I will take what I can get.

After that, I put my 2-year-old down to sleep. He is not too big for my lap either. Recently he has not wanted to go to bed so I’ve spent additional time snuggling with him as well. Such sweetness!

There is something so profoundly spiritual about snuggling with my children. I can’t explain it; the experience is beyond words. Although we are physically separated, we are joined together in spirit. Their ability to surrender is phenomenal. I am so grateful that we share such a strong connection. I am also grateful that they are still young enough that they haven’t grown too big for my arms and heart.

I truly cherish these moments, for I do not know whether they will last once they are teenagers and want nothing to do with their mother. Until then, I am grateful for the moments when they can set aside their jealousy and take in the love that I have for them.

 

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

