Day 31

March 20, 2013

My husband had a seizure at 1:30 am this morning. I woke to loud thumping noises and ran into the bathroom to find him seizing on the floor. His head was wedged in between the tub and the wall. I couldn’t move him to a safer position. The seizure lasted for at least five minutes. His eyes were rolling in the back of his head. He was frothing at the mouth. His face was twitching. His arms were flailing. His legs were moving up and down. I have never been so scared in my entire life.

I called 911 and the ambulance arrived just shortly after he had stopped seizing. He was still disoriented when he came to and didn’t really seem to understand what was happening. Because the kids were sleeping, I let the paramedics take him to the hospital without me. Once the kids were up and being watched by someone else I went to see him in the hospital.

I found him sitting up and alert. He said he feels sore and very tired, both to be expected after a seizure. I climbed into bed with him even though there wasn’t room for both of us and started crying. I was so scared of losing him.

I still am.

Believe it or not, though, I am grateful that I heard the thumping and could be with him during the seizure. I am grateful I was able to call 911 and the paramedics arrived within a reasonable time frame. I am grateful my children slept through the whole thing.

I am hoping you will join me in praying for his recovery. Bless you all, and hug your loved ones tight today.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 31

  1. I’m so sorry you had to go through this. That is so scary. You’re in our prayers.

Leave a Reply

