Day 53

April 11, 2013

Can I be grateful for the same thing I was grateful for yesterday? Is that cheating?

Let me reiterate how grateful I am for AIR CONDITIONING!!!!!

I also had a nice, long chat with my mom on the phone. The kind of chat that is relaxed and real. Not the kind of chat where I’m crying my eyes out or grousing about my problems. Granted, there are a lot of things going on in my life right now that lead to intense low periods. I am grateful I have the kind of mom who listens. Truly.

Telephone

Sometimes I don’t call her, though, if I don’t have a problem. ‘What would we talk about?‘ I worry. We live so far apart that being casual on the phone feels awkward. ‘She should be right here with me,‘ I think. The fact that she isn’t makes me sad so I just avoid talking about the fun stuff. It hurts too much.

Is that weird?

My mom and I are really close. Like we feel each other’s feelings. (Yes, it can be a problem sometimes.) Still, I wish we lived closer to each other. I think I would smile more often.

In the meantime, I’m grateful for Alexander Graham Bell so that I can hear my mom’s voice on the phone despite the many miles between us.

English: Portrait of Alexander Graham Bell Fra...

That makes today’s gratitude: 1) air conditioning, 2) my mom, and 3) the telephone.

Note: I have not figured out how to work Skype, yet, or I would be able to video chat with her, I suppose.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment