Day 54

April 12, 2013

I went on a run with DinaP again this morning. This time I remembered my good pair of running shoes. (Yay, me!) It rained this morning so the temperature was in the 50’s, which meant neither of us overheated. We also ran along the roads rather than the trails so our terrain was flat instead of hilly. I missed the trees along the trails, but since I’m just getting back into running I needed an easy day.

I also listened to a sermon by Elder Jeffrey R. Holland, a leader in the Mormon Church. He presented a sermon at the April 2013 General Conference in Salt Lake City, UT, that Mormons could listen to and(or) watch when it originally aired or after the fact (which is what I did).

Elder Jeffrey R. Holland, Mormon Quorum of the...

This is the first time I’ve heard him speak, but I was really touched by his sermon. I love when he said, “The size of your faith or the degree of your knowledge is not the issue—it is the integrity you demonstrate toward the faith you do have and the truth you already know.”

Wow. Just brilliant.

This line also stood out for me: “As one gifted writer has suggested, when the infinite fullness is poured forth, it is not the oil’s fault if there is some loss because finite vessels can’t quite contain it all. Those finite vessels include you and me, so be patient and kind and forgiving.”

I love that. It suggests that we simply cannot hold or know or contain the full extent of God’s love, but we can become full enough that there’s no need to desire more. And the fact that we are finite vessels should not be a source of shame but a starting point to fully embracing the human experience.

Thank you, Lord, for this day. Thank you for all the joys this day has brought. And for the joys that will continue to greet me before the day is done.

I’m off to get my hair cut. I think it’s been a year since I last had it cut. My reasons are simple: 1) it’s expensive to get my hair cut so I avoid it until it’s intolerable, 2) I have to take off work to get it cut (which factors into the price aspect), and 3) because I can’t get my hair cut that often I don’t have the hair style I really want.

However, I’m going so I’m grateful I just got off my ass about it and am going. It’s overdue.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

