Day 63

April 21, 2013

Today was an amazing day! We went to church in the morning and everyone actually cooperated!

After church, we ate lunch and got ready to go to Great Falls in Maryland with my dad. My kids haven’t been to the Maryland side of Great Falls, which is surprising since I grew up in Maryland and used to go to Great Falls all the time. I guess we just never had time, and the 20 minute drive felt too far to already exhausted parents.

The day was gorgeous, though, and the temperature in the 60’s. My dad wanted to take the kids on the barge in the C&O Canal, but we almost didn’t make it. The line to get into the park was long so we had to run to catch it before it pushed off.

English: A ferry on the . Photo from the Natio...

After the ride, we walked out to see the falls. The bridges over parts of the Potomac River terrify me. Since my kids were with  me this time, I was even more terrified. Falling into the Potomac is incredibly dangerous, and people have lost their lives that way. Eagle Eye Mama kept an eye on the kids.

English: Great Falls of the Potomac River

The view was definitely worth the visit, though. We saw a blue heron. My dad was beaming as he doted on the kids. My husband and I were all smiles. Life was good.

The hardest part was going back home, but I am grateful for the day and will cherish the memories we created.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

