Day 75

May 3, 2013

Gratitude. Gratitude. Let’s see …

I’m going to have to get through the hurdles first to see find the gratitude. I haven’t gotten a good night’s sleep all week because of my kids and I am at the breaking point today. Thank goodness it’s Friday. (Hey! There’s some gratitude.)

I am grateful it is Friday and I’m grateful I made it through the day even though I felt like I was going to fall on my face. I managed to get all my work done in spite of my exhaustion, which makes me feel good.

I am supposed to go to see a concert at the Strathmore tonight, but I am too tired and probably won’t go at this point. I know this is going to come back and haunt me when I am feeling better because I will complain that I have gotten too old for my own good. And then I will feel sorry for myself because I’m no longer young and capable of bouncing back so easily. Which will then lead me down the rabbit hole of self-pity. Blah. (You see, I’m already kind of there.)

A friend from childhood, Allison Miller, is performing with her band BOOM TIC BOOM and I really want to see her. She is an incredible drummer and has toured with Brandi Carlile and Ani DiFranco. She started taking drum lessons when we were in elementary school. I was always a tad jealous that she took drum lessons. I really wanted to, but I don’t know why I never asked. Probably because my mom is noise sensitive and wouldn’t have it.

Oops. I got off track. I was supposed to be expressing my gratitude.

Okay, I am grateful to know Allison Miller. I am grateful I have smart, creative, soulful, spiritual friends that make the world a better place. Allison founded “The Walter Salb Memorial Musical Scholarship Foundation” in honor of her late mentor. I love that she is giving back. That is so beautiful. The foundation annually provides money to a promising young musician in Montgomery County, MD, for the continuation of studies in music.

You know, it’s amazing. One minute I’m feeling sorry for myself and getting more and more depressed, but as soon as I started sharing Allison’s story I felt my heart uplift. Suddenly I don’t feel so old and tired.

Sonic Circuits @ Strathmore

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

