Day 78

Tree buddha

May 6, 2013

Yep. Monday has started out pretty rough. Just as expected. I got to sleep at a somewhat decent hour. Much later than I wanted but better than nothing at all. I should be grateful for that. I wish gratitude could turn a switch inside my head to make me feel less irritable.

We are in the middle of tree pollen season, which means our cars are covered in green film everyday. My nose is dripping like a faucet. I have a sore throat. I sneeze at random moments. Between my allergies, my cold and the pending storm, it’s no wonder I feel horrible. I think the next three days are just going to be the type you ride out. Once the barometric pressure lifts, I’m sure I will feel a lot better. In the meantime, I will just pace myself.

If there’s anything I’ve learned about myself it is that there are days that are going to be tough no matter how hard I try to look on the bright side and feel grateful for life’s incredible gifts. Zen Buddhism reminds me that in order to feel joy I must also feel pain. So, just in case I had forgotten, I am suffering. More than that, though, I am embracing the suffering. I think suffering has less power over you when you stop fighting it.

English: Great Buddha, Changhua, Taiwan

The one truly bright spot in my day has been my workout. Without fail, exercise manages to boost my spirits. I’m not entirely fixed, but I feel lifted and that gives me hope.

 

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

