Day 82

May 10, 2013

I am climbing the walls in my office. I have two hours left before I can leave. I am having one of those days when I would really like to bolt, but I am trying to save up my vacation time so I can actually get more than just a day off every now and then. I feel like I’m losing ground, though.

All week I have been a single parent while my husband has been working late on a training program with his job. I am so grateful the training program ended today so he can be home at a normal time! I am also grateful it is Friday.

I never wanted to be one of those people who lived for Fridays. When you’re desperate for Friday on a Monday you know it’s time for a change.

But I’m going to be grateful for Friday nonetheless. I’m pretty sure I’m just exhausted from working non-stop for the past week. I don’t know how some parents manage when they work three jobs just to make ends meet.

On Wednesdays I always take the kids to Burger King for dinner after the girls’ Irish step dance classes. I like the ritual of going. I know the kids will eat their dinner that night without complaint. There is an older Latina woman who works at the Drive Thru window on Wednesdays and I always make sure to look her in the eyes and say “thank you” sincerely. Then we smile at each other. I don’t know if anyone else smiles at her, but I know she is barely making ends meet and probably has at least one other job. Her service is not lost on me.

I am a bleeding heart in that way. Send me to India and I will end up giving all the beggars my money. It’s not a solution.

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.” – Chinese Proverb

Still, gratitude can go a long way. It can make a difference in a person’s life. So I’ve decided that next week I’m going to give her a THANK YOU card. I can’t offer her more money because I don’t have it, but I can offer her appreciation.

If I didn’t have to work I would:

  1. Volunteer to help others learn English
  2. Sing in the church choir
  3. Spend time with my children
  4. Work on my art and get my website up
  5. Learn to cook

If I didn’t have to consider money in making my career decisions, I would pursue art or art therapy. I just don’t know how to stop the wheel. I don’t know how to take that leap when there is health insurance to consider and a mortgage to pay.

Only 10 more days until the waiting ends. That’s when the end will come in sight. Because, for some things, there has to be an end.

Thank God for that!

English: Willowherb And Friday Wood The edge o...

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

