Day 148

July 15, 2013

I don’t want to gloss over the very difficult and painful things taking place in my life right now, but I also don’t want to dwell on them. I’m saying that because I don’t want anyone to think that I’m Mrs. Pollyanna now. I’m not pretending the crap in my life is a sweet-smelling rose.

No. It absolutely stinks; I just don’t want to dig in it to the point that I’m covered in shit. Finding beauty or joy where I can is a gift I give to myself at a time when I really need some kindness in the world.

So, today, I practiced mindful eating during lunch. My sandwich had a lot more flavor to it than I ever paused to notice. The textures were more noticeable, too. Also, I never realized there are ikat-like pattern on carrots. I think I’m going to have to make my next drawing a carrot after today.

Carrot diversity

I had a really sweet conversation with cashier in the convenience store at work. The cashier and I are on a first name basis. After a year of buying soda, water, pretzels, and chips from her I finally realized I didn’t know her name. I think I am one of the few people who takes time to find out how she is doing. So, I am grateful for A’s sweet smile and recommendations where to buy kids’ shoes. šŸ™‚

If I sound like I’m grasping at straws, I am, but truth be told there are some days when straws are all you have and they can sustain you until the walls of your mind have more strength to stand.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

