Day 151

July 18, 2013

I am grateful for food today. I’ve been practicing mindful eating this week and while it has presented some challenges (like needing to wear my reading glasses to see my food up close, my general impatience over overactive mind) I must admit that eating has become a much more pleasant experience.

Smelling the bread that holds my sandwich together has added a new dimension to my senses. Usually I only stop to notice the smell of bread when it is fresh from the oven, but that same wonderful smell is retained in bread (albeit in a less overwhelming manner). Intoxicating.

sandwich

The juxtaposition of the cucumber crunch with the turkey meat made me stop and wonder why I like these flavors so much. When I am eating absentmindedly, do I pick up on the subtleties on an unconscious level? Do I mentally take note too quick for me to realize?

Last night I marveled at the cycle of life present in everything we eat. The lettuce from our garden still had dirt on it. Lettuce grows in soil if there is the right amount of light and water and some element of ‘je ne sais quoi.’ I mean, really, what IS a seed?

lettuce square 062509

To connect with food is to connect with life. It is also a connection with death, for the plants have been harvested and the animal killed (if you eat meat, that is). Consciously, I would like to become a vegetarian, but physically I am not able. My metabolism is too fast; I need heavy proteins to slow me down. Otherwise I never feel full. I learned that the hard way after being a vegetarian for many years and suffering from extreme fatigue and incessant anxiety. Meat is a good thing for me to eat, but I do so in moderation and with tremendous gratitude for the sacrifices that have been made on my behalf.

Slowly, I am beginning to understand what food critics and top chefs experience around food. Until recently, my stomach was just an annoying part of my anatomy. Now I see it as an essential component to life.

I am so very grateful.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

