Day 172

August 8, 2013

Day 3 of riding my bike to work. I didn’t decide to ride my bike for health reasons or to get more in touch with nature, reduce my carbon footprint; I have been riding my bike so our sitter can take the girls to Nature Camp.

My children are valid reasons for sacrifice, especially when I end up learning something about myself in the process. So far I’ve learned:

  1. If it is raining outside in the morning I should bring a change of pants.
  2. Be prepared to sweat a little (or a lot) upon arrival.
  3. I need to lower. my. expectations. regarding my hair style. Bike helmets are not meant for beautiful hair ‘dos.
  4. Remember to lift my butt off the seat when going over bumps. My hooha appreciates the extra consideration.
  5. Riding into work is tougher than riding home because I’m going uphill most of the way and still waking up.
  6. My thighs are tired.
  7. I’m a lot more lazy than I thought. Riding my bike to work isn’t that hard or that far, but I still wish I could drive my car.

I’ll have to see if I stick with biking to work after this. I honestly see no reason I shouldn’t continue while the kids are at home. Once school starts I will be dropping them off and picking them up at daycare and before- and after-school programs. I’m not zealous enough to do all of that on a bike, though I know it is possible and in a place like Portland not considered bizarre. Still, like I said, I’m a lot more lazy than I thought.

Bike stencil on Portland, Oregon's bike routes.

I’m grateful for the lessons I’ve learned. I think they help me understand myself better, and luckily I’m not judging myself on any of these qualities. I’m just observing.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

