Day 173

August 9, 2013

Today is FRIDAY! This week has been edit, edit, edit.

I’m grateful I’ve learned to edit myself. I used to be the kind of person who said whatever was on her mind. I didn’t like holding my feelings inside me. I found it impossible to bite my tongue. Sometimes, though, a person needs to keep quiet. That doesn’t mean I don’t have feelings; it just means I’m more careful with whom I share my feelings and in what context I do so.

Surprisingly, I find myself liberated by the self-discipline. Discernment means I’m protecting and taking care of myself better. It also means I’m learning to rely on myself as a solid resource. I’m discovering that I can tolerate a lot more than I thought I could, and that tolerating more doesn’t mean I’m living with abuse or putting up with unhappiness.

 

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

