Day 182

August 18, 2013

I am searing with pain this morning from yesterday’s road trip to Luray Caverns. We were probably on the road for seven hours and took a huge toll on my body. I am swearing off any and all road trips for the time being, especially if I have to drive. Anything over an hour is off the books.

I’m grateful that the kids and I decided to stay home. I’m also grateful they let me rest in the afternoon and for my neighbor who fed them dinner so I could vacuum and pick up the house. My husband gets back tomorrow night from visiting his mother.

I managed to get some laundry done and took the kids out for ice cream at Baskin Robbins after I got up from laying down. I got a small kid cup of rainbow sherbet for my son, but he did not like it. He wanted to feed the ice cream to me, only I don’t really like sherbet anymore. As a kid, rainbow sherbet was my go-to flavor. Either that, or chocolate ice cream.

aldo's ice cream

Now that I’m a lactose-intolerant adult, I don’t enjoy ice cream. Well, okay, maybe a lick of ice cream every now and then. But mostly too much sugar gives me digestion problems and disrupts my blood sugar levels.

All told, though, it was a good day. I was with my kids and I relished the time with them.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

