Day 187

August 24, 2013

I had a very full morning. I wrangled with three enormous tomato plants in our garden. All three of them are taller than me, but most of them had fallen down. I had to lift up the very heavy and laden tomato plants above my head and tie them into place. It took quite a bit of grumbling at times, but I did it and I felt very satisfied at the end.

Tomato Plants

I’m grateful my husband decided he wanted to stay indoors and … gasp! … vacuum! Total role reversal with me being outside in the garden and my hubs inside cleaning the house.

After I finished with the tomato plants I pruned three azalea bushes in our backyard. I must be incredibly out of shape in my forearms because an hour of pruning meant that I could not hold a glass of water without my hand shaking violently. It looked like I had Parkinson’s disease. Seriously? Woah.

English: Azalea Bush

The sun and heat took it out of me, but I’m grateful I accomplished the items on my outdoor “to do” list. After lunch, the Elders came over and helped us remove three slate slabs that we use on our back patio. The weeds had grown so thick that you couldn’t see the slate anymore. The pretty plants that were meant to grow in between the slabs were choked out by the weeds; I figured we needed to just start over.

I am so incredibly grateful two young men with a desire to serve helped us. Because, frankly, after my body’s reaction to the pruning I’m quite sure my husband and I would never have been able to fix the patio.

Thank goodness I spent the early morning making homemade orange juice and pink lemonade (3 cherries + 12 lemons + 1 c. simple syrup + 8 c. water). We sucked the juice down to cope with the heat and all our hard labor outdoors.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

