Day 283

December 2, 2013

Today is the first week I work part-time, which means I have today off. I’d like to say that staying at home with my son was everything I had hoped it would be, but it was not. He has entered the Terrible Three’s. I don’t know why people think there are the Terrible Two’s; in our house it’s the three’s that are horrendous.

I took the comforter for the master bed to the local laundry mat to wash it in a front loading machine. I am grateful that I had the time to do that, and that my son went with me. I fondly remember using the laundry mat in college. I don’t know why, but laundry mats are happy places to me. There was only one laundry mat I’ve used in my life that was absolutely dismal. I think I was somewhere in Wyoming and there was absolutely NO air circulation so I was melting while I waited for the clothes to wash and dry.

After we finished at the laundry mat, I cut my son’s hair. It was really long and unmanageable. Cutting it was traumatic for him. That means it was also traumatic for me. I hate torturing him, but I knew letting someone in a salon cut his hair wasn’t going to go over well either. He didn’t want to take a bath after the hair cut either. It’s been at least a week since I bathed him, though, so I wasn’t going to let him squirm out of it this time. Again, not a happy memory, but I’m grateful his hair is cut (he looks adorable) and he’s clean. I’m also grateful I managed to get his old, stinky socks off him. God help me when he’s a teenager.

I also caught up with some lectures for my sustainability course while my son played quietly. He refused to take a nap, but at least he let me get some work done. Yay!

In the evening, my husband forgot he was supposed to come home to watch two of the kids so I could take my older daughter to piano lessons. I tried reaching him by phone several times but couldn’t, which raised my anxiety level through the roof considering he’s been having a hard time recently. I definitely have some trust issues right now.

Thankfully, thankfully, I finally got a hold of him and he explained that he forgot. I’m exhausted but grateful to have everyone home safe.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

