Day 350

February 10, 2014

I’m grateful for a fantastic 90 minute massage this morning courtesy of my husband! The weather is absolutely treacherous and my joints are feeling every ounce of cold this year. I can only imagine what people twice my age must feel! No wonder people retire to Florida!

After my massage, I was supposed to have a hair cut, but my hair dresser called out sick so I ran a few errands instead. I mailed a care package to my husband from the Post Office. The box I had was too big so I was hoping the stuff would fit inside a large Priority Mail Flat Rate box.

It didn’t.

But something even better happened!

Someone left behind the PERFECT sized box. Whomever did it was a little angel in my life. Thank you, Random Person!

I *knew* there was a reason I didn’t tape the box I had!

Also, I went to Target to return a couple of items and pick up a few things. While I was there I had an inspiration as to how to reconfigure some of the kids’ play things so we would have more room in the basement.

Then I spent the rest of the afternoon working on moving books and toys. It felt great!

So far we’ve made three trips to Goodwill. I anticipate at least one more trip before my dad leaves.

I’m astonished by the progress. I haven’t felt like all our hard work was really evident, but there is at least one room that is consistently in decent shape: the main living area. I wouldn’t have said that all the toys and clutter were negatively affecting me, but as space opens up I find myself feeling less depressed, less overwhelmed, and less distracted.

I’m hoping that I can continue the trend even after my dad leaves. There is still a LOT of work left to be done. We had been operating under the assumption that we would eventually move out of our town home to a single family home. Given the turn in events, however, we may have to downsize if we stay in our current zip code. Plus, unless my husband finds work fairly soon after he gets out of the hospital (and one that pays almost the same as the old one) I’m not sure we can afford any home in our area.

Even though that seems scary to me, I keep praying for the willingness and strength to handle the changes and for guidance to keep my spirit from descending into fears. Whatever happens, I trust God will be with us. And, no matter what happens, I know that we have more than one place to stay for a short period of time if the hard times get harder. I am so grateful for that.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

