Day 364

February 24, 2014

I found out my friend G was in a motorcycle accident on Saturday. We were supposed to have lunch together today, but he has been out of work for awhile and between the motorcycle accident and finances he couldn’t join me for lunch.

So I went to him.

One thing I’m learning is the importance of friendship during difficult times. People need support. People need to be able to lean on others. That means letting others lean on you as well. Given the amount of support I’ve been given recently I felt it was only fair for me to extend myself.

It’s a long drive out to see him, but I don’t regret going. Sometimes you have to make a sacrifice.

He lives near a train station so I took my son to see the train tracks. My little guy loves trains and has never seen one up close. The weather has turned bitterly cold again so the outing wasn’t a huge hit in that regard. I hadn’t really dressed my son for the sudden change in weather.

However, my friend got a call about a job while we were there. I am really praying that this job is the one he’s been waiting to find. I hate seeing him feel so horrible. I know it has damaged his sense of self esteem among other things.

After our visit, I drove to get the girls from school and took them to our music lessons. We haven’t been to music lessons in three weeks for various reason – weather, sickness, and school-related conflicts – so it was nice to see Ms. R again. She is a great teacher and we enjoy seeing her and her sweet family.

I am exhausted and behind in laundry, but I am grateful I had the chance to see G and grateful I had enough money to pay for gas, food, and tolls. It might be the last time in awhile that I can do that. Even so I will remember today over most other Mondays and I’m grateful for that.

Because, you know, laundry just can’t compete with friendship.

I’m also grateful for music scholarships for my daughter and I so we can continue to study music while my husband is not working.

About einoka

Mother of three. Wait! Mother of three? Yes, indeed. Plus, wife to fabulous husband. Geologist. Doodler. Vivid dreamer.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

